Banksy- Follow your Dreams By Lynsey Hanneman

A few years ago while I was scrolling through Instagram was when I first discovered the inspiring and mysterious street artist Banksy. I came across a picture that showed an interesting layout of graffiti on a wall outside on a street and I was instantly interested. I have always had a love and appreciation of graffiti for as long as I can remember. I have just always loved the idea of people wanting to share and express their feelings through painting on a wall, so people can see it and question it whenever they see it on the street. However, Banksy isn’t just a very successful graffiti artist, he also an amazing painter, activist and filmmaker. One of the reasons why I respect Banksy so much as a person and an artist is because he wants to keep his identity and doesn’t show his face. He will usually wear either a mask or a paper bag to conceal his face while making his artwork out on the street. Unfortunately, whenever people will see him out on the streets creating his artwork, they will try to reveal his identity by taking off his mask. Gladly no one has succeeded in this act and Banksy still remains “anonymous”. I think that this is significant because he didn’t care if he became famous for his artwork, he just wanted to express what he feels and believes in. Hence why he is mostly known for his street art since most of his pieces convey a deeper meaning and will say something to make people think while walking by it on the street. For example, in one of his most famous pieces, “Follow your Dreams” it is a image of a man with a paint brush standing next to the words “Follow Your Dreams” with “CANCELLED” written across. This was achieved by cutting out a template, sticking it onto a wall and then spray painting it. Each piece of art work is made in about 20-45 minutes. This piece really spoke to me because growing up I have always been told to “follow my dreams” and “do what makes me happy” but once you find out what that thing is that makes you happy, they judge you for it. Ever since I was little, I have always wanted to be an art teacher. However, I have also always known that becoming an art teacher means that I will not be paid well, and may not even be respected as much. Luckily, I don’t listen to those negative people and continue to follow my dreams, without them being cancelled.

“The Story Behind Banksy.” Smithsonian.com. Smithsonian Institution, n.d. Web. 28 Jan. 2017.

bansky

Leave a comment